Harper County, Kansas

INSTRUCTIONS TO THE APPLICANT REQUESTING A CONDITIONAL USE BEFORE
THE BOARD OF ZONING APPEALS AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE ZONING REGULATIONS

$200.00 Non-refundable application fee required.

1. Applicants are advised that the Harper County Board of Zoning Appeals is only authorized to grant conditional uses as exceptions which are specifically provided for in the Zoning Regulations of Harper County, Kansas.

2. An Applicant must complete an application form and all blanks should be filled in or noted as N/A.  See Section 10-108 of Zoning Regulations for procedures pertaining to a conditional use.

3. Applicant must submit a current ownership list of names, mailing addresses and zip codes of all owners of record of real property within 1,000 feet of the exterior boundary of the area described in the application which is outside of a city.  If the 1,000 foot notification area extends into a city, then similar information shall be provided for 200 feet inside the city.  (See Section 10-103 of the Zoning Regulations for Notice of Hearing.)

4. The Applicant must submit information as required by Section 10-108A and present data in support of the standards for review described in Section 10-108C of the Zoning Regulations.  Such review standards shall serve as the basis for the Board’s decision.

5. The above application and accompanying documents shall be filed in a timely manner with the Zoning Administrator before the next regular Board meeting, together with a fee to the County Treasurer as established by the Fee Schedule in Section 9-104 of the Zoning Regulations.  See Administrator for fee schedule information and Meeting and Filing Date schedules for application.  Incomplete applications will be returned to the Applicant.

6. [bookmark: _GoBack]Notice of the public hearing by the Board of Zoning Appeals will be published in the official County newspaper by the Secretary so that at least 20 days elapse between the date of publication and hearing date.  Notices of the hearing will also be mailed by the Zoning Administrator to all property owners on the ownership list, the Applicant and the Secretary of the Harper County Planning Commission so that at least 20 days shall elapse between the mailing date and the hearing date.

7. If the conditional use is granted, it shall be valid for only 180 days unless within such period a zoning permit is obtained and the conditional use requested is started.  The Board of Zoning Appeals may grant extensions not exceeding 180 days each, upon written application, without further notice or hearing.

8. When your Conditional Use is decided, a resolution will be signed and filed with the Zoning Administrator.  If the conditional use is granted, you may apply for a Zoning Permit.

9. A decision of the Board of Zoning Appeals is considered final unless appealed to the District Court under Section 10-105 of the Zoning Regulations within 30 days after the date of filing the resolution with the Zoning Administrator.

10. Please note that the County is processing your application under the minimum time period prescribed by state law.
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