Go To Search
Click to Home

Give Your Child a Boost
Kansas law requires children ages four, five, six, and seven to be secured in a booster seat. Steps for Kids

4 Steps for Kids
Step 1-Rear facing infant seatChildren Under One
Children must ride in a rear-facing child seat until they reach at least one year old and 20 pounds.


 

Step 2-forward facing toddler seatChildren Ages One, Two & Three
Children ages one, two, and three must be properly restrained in a forward-facing child seat.




 
Step 3-booster seatChildren Ages Four, Five, Six & Seven
All children ages four, five, six, and seven are required to ride in a booster seat unless:
  • The child weighs more than 80 pounds; or
  • The child is taller than four feet nine inches; or
  • Only a lap belt is available

Children who meet the above height and weight criteria must be protected by a seat belt.

Step 4-seat beltChildren Ages Eight Through 13
Children ages eight through 13 must be protected by a seat belt.

Teenagers Ages 14 Through 18
Teenagers ages 14 though 18 must be protected by a seat belt.
  • Primary Law: Occupants of a passenger car 14 years of age but younger than 18 can be cited for not wearing a seat-belt without being cited for another violation.

The Fine
Violations of the Child Passenger Safety Act will cost you $60, plus court costs.
  • Troopers began issuing warnings for violations of the booster seat provision of the Child Passenger Safety Act on July 1, 2006.
  • Troopers will begin issuing citations for violations of the booster seat provision of the Child Passenger Safety Act on July 1, 2007.
  • The $60 fine will be waived if proof is provided to the court that an appropriate child safety seat has been acquired. Court costs still apply.

Frequently Asked Questions
Why do Children Ages Four, Five, Six & Seven Need to Ride in a Booster Seat?
Seat belts are made to fit adults and do not protect children properly. Booster seats work by raising a child up so that the lap and shoulder belts are positioned properly. Booster seats reduce the risk of injury by 59%, as compared to using only seat belts.

What Kinds of Booster Seats Are There?
  • High-Back Booster Seat - A high-back booster seat provides head and neck support and can be used in all vehicles that have a lap / shoulder safety belt system. Some forward-facing car seats convert to a high-back booster seat.
  • No-Back Booster Seat - No-back booster seats should only be used in vehicles equipped with built-in head rests.
  • All booster seats should be used with the vehicle's lap and shoulder belt system, never a lap belt only.

Where do I Purchase a Booster Seat & How Much does One Cost?
Booster seats are available at all department stores, toy stores, and other retail outlets. A no-back booster seat costs approximately $15, and a high-back booster seat ranges from $20 to $100, depending on the style. If you need assistance, call 1-855-SEAT CHECK for the location of the nearest child seat inspection station.

Where Can I Get More Information?
For more information on how to choose the appropriate safety restraint system for your child, visit the Kansas Booster Seat website or contact Safe Kids Kansas at 785-296-0351 or the Kansas Safety Belt Education Office at 800-416-2522.

© 2011 Kansas Highway Patrol - Legal Information

Harper County, KS
201 N. Jennings Ave.
Anthony, KS  67003
Ph: 1-877-537-2110